Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies 

Key Resources
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/culthermuseum  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles via databases             Print Page
  

Your librarians

Profile ImageArts and Education Librarians
Contact Info:
john.berry@deakin.edu.au
marion.churkovich@deakin.edu.au
amy.sellers@deakin.edu.au
christine.oughtred@deakin.edu.au
tanya.wilson@deakin.edu.au
julie.wood@deakin.edu.au

 

Login details

Use your Deakin username and password to access databases on campus.

Use your name, library borrower number and PIN to access databases from home or work.  Create your library PIN

Need help? Check out the links on the Getting help page

Searching help

  • SmartSearcher Tutorial  
      
    Learn what databases are and how to use them to locate journal articles. Journal articles are a valuable source of current information.
 

User rights

"All use of electronic resources subscribed to by Deakin University Library is for educational, research or personal use. Restrictions are displayed under 'Licensing & Resource Info' for the individual resource. Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher."
 
 

The most relevant databases: Cultural Heritage & Museum Studies

AHB Australian Heritage Bibliography
HERIT-AHB indexes material published on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subjects covered include: national parks, endangered species, ecology, rivers, heritage sites, rock art sites, aboriginal sites, historic buildings and structures, and wilderness areas. Licensing and Resource Information

Australian Public Affairs Full Text 
This database is Australia's major periodical index with emphasis given to current articles on politics, economics, law, society, and culture in Australia. Other Informit databases can be searched at the same time. Licensing and Resource Information.

AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. This database was formerly the print publication Art and Archaeology Technical abstracts. Use is free but users can save searches by registering an email address. Licensing and Resource Information

CHIN (Canadian Heritage Information Network)
Indexes various bibliographic and object collections in the Humanities, Conservation, Natural Science and Museums area. Other resources available include the Art and Architecture Thesaurus, Artists in Canada , Atlantic Canada Newspaper Survey, Religious Objects Collections and more.  Go to the Reference Library for  Museology Bibliography (BMUSE), or to Conservation for the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation  Information Network ( BCIN). Licensing and Resource Information

Expanded Academic ASAP 
Contains more than 1800 indexed journal titles, with over 520 of these available in full text. Full text title coverage largely dates from the early 1990s while the indexing for all titles includes 1980 to the present - updated daily. The range of subjects covered include: agriculture, arts, business, communications, law, economics, education, engineering, etc. Licensing and Resource Information.

Academic Search Premier provides full text material from more than 3,600 publications in social sciences, humanities, general science, engineering, medical, education, multi-cultural, and other journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 4,500 journals. More than 3,000 journals are peer reviewed. Full text content will vary with specific journal titles. Licensing and Resource Information


 

Also worth a look


A+ Education
Is useful for finding materials on museum users and educational strategies in Australian museums. It indexes materials at all levels of education. Licensing and Resource Information.

ERIC : Resources in education (RIE), Current index to journals in education (CIJE)
ERIC is the major education database produced by the United States Department of Education. It provides access to some 14,000 new documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year, with an international coverage. The two sub files it contains are Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) also known as Eric Documents.This database is also useful for locating education related museum materials, indexing international publications in education. Licensing and Resource Information

 
Web of Knowledge
ISI Web of Knowledge includes: The Web of Science and ISI Current Contents Connect®. Users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.
Licensing and Resource Information.

 
 

Your feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait