Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Literary Studies 

This is an introduction to key sources of information selected by Deakin University Library staff. You may find print and online resources listed.
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/litstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles via databases             Print Page
  

Your librarians

Profile ImageArts and Education Librarians
Contact Info:
john.berry@deakin.edu.au
marion.churkovich@deakin.edu.au
amy.sellers@deakin.edu.au
christine.oughtred@deakin.edu.au
tanya.wilson@deakin.edu.au
julie.wood@deakin.edu.au

 

Login details

Use your Deakin username and password to access databases on campus.

Use your name, library borrower number and PIN to access databases from home or work.  Create your library PIN

Need help? Check out the links on the Getting help page

Searching help

  • SmartSearcher Tutorial  
      
    Learn what databases are and how to use them to locate journal articles. Journal articles are a valuable source of current information.
 

User rights

"All use of electronic resources subscribed to by Deakin University Library is for educational, research or personal use. Restrictions are displayed under 'Licensing & Resource Info' for the individual resource. Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher."
 
 

The most relevant databases for Literary Studies

Literature Resource Centre
This full text database is available through the Gale group, and includes content from key resources such as Contemporary AuthorsOnline, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, as well as critical essays on major authors via links to more than 250 prominent literary journals. Licensing and Resource Information

Austlit: the Resource for Australian Literature 
AustLit: The Resource for Australian Literature states that it “provides authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works - published in a range of print and electronic sources - and on more than 60 000 Australian authors and literary organizations.” The majority of AustLit records provide citation and library holdings, rather than full text. Full text for critical works and reviews is being selectively and progressively added to AustLit from 2002 onwards. Licensing and Resource Information

Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.Licensing and Resource Information.

Academic Search Premier (on EBSCOHost)
Academic Search Premier provides full text material from more than 3,600 publications in social sciences, humanities, general science, engineering, medical, education, multi-cultural, and other journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 4,500 journals. Licensing and Resource Information

APA-FT Australian Public Affairs - Full Text 
Australia's major journal index with emphasis given to current articles on politics, economics, law, society, and culture in Australia. Licensing and Resource Information.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts
CSA Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Licensing and Resource Information

 

Also worth a look

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association of America, and consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography indexes scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series, and also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, as well as other material. Licensing and Resource Information

Project Muse
Over 40 liberal arts journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press in the subject areas of Literary theory, Mathematics, Classics, Education, Philosophy, Film, theatre and performing arts, Political science, History and cultural studies, and Judaic studies.
Licensing and Resource Information

Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive
A subscription research database from Primary Source Media, The Gale Group, offering the world's premier contemporary literary review in fully searchable image format. This mirror to the cultural history of our century - fully indexed with most of the original contributors now revealed for the first time - delivers unparalleled research information to scholars, students and librarians. Covers articles from 1902-1990. From the link above click on "access this database" to start searching. Licensing and Resource Information

 

 
 

Your feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait