Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Sociology 

Key Resources
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles via databases             Print Page
  

Your librarians

Profile ImageArts and Education Librarians
Contact Info:
john.berry@deakin.edu.au
marion.churkovich@deakin.edu.au
amy.sellers@deakin.edu.au
christine.oughtred@deakin.edu.au
tanya.wilson@deakin.edu.au
julie.wood@deakin.edu.au

 

Login details

Use your Deakin username and password to access databases on campus.

Use your name, library borrower number and PIN to access databases from home or work.  Create your library PIN

Need help? Check out the links on the Getting help page

Searching help

  • SmartSearcher Tutorial  
      
    Learn what databases are and how to use them to locate journal articles. Journal articles are a valuable source of current information.
 

User rights

"All use of electronic resources subscribed to by Deakin University Library is for educational, research or personal use. Restrictions are displayed under 'Licensing & Resource Info' for the individual resource. Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher."
 
 

The most relevant databases for Sociology

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 37 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 10,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labour Studies) from 1982- Licensing and Resource Information

Social Theory
Social Theory offers a selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Featuring content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons
Licesing and Resource Information

Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. Also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to 1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals. Licensing and Resource Information

Australian Public Affairs Full Text
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APA-FT), is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Australian Public Affairs - Full Text is based on the journal indexing of the database Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. Licensing and Resource Information

Web of Knowledge
Includes two sub-databases - Current Contents Connect (1998-), and, Web of Science (1973-) .They both incorporate Social Sciences Citation Index. The records on Web of Science cover a broader range of years and also include citation linking whilst Current Contents Connect is more Internet friendly and includes more email addresses and web site addresses. Licensing and Resource Information

 

 
 

Your feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait