Searching help
- Effective web searching

Save time searching the web. Learn how to find information that's right for your assignments and research. - Link Deakin Library to your Google Scholar search results
Get quick access to the full text of many articles that appear in your Google Scholar search results.
The most relevant website for Occupational Health and Safety
OHS at Deakin
The Occupational Health and Safety unit at Deakin provides high quality services and policy advice on preventative occupational health and safety, fire safety, emergency management, compensation, claims management and rehabilitation service in order to comply with state legislation and to provide a safe and friendly work environment. The OHS unit have developed a Manual for use at Deakin University.
Laboratory Hazards: a guide for undergraduates
This document is intended as a guide to safety and laboratory procedures within the School for the information of undergraduate students. (Biological & Chemical Sciences is now part of the School of Life and Environmental Sciences).
Chemwatch
Note this site works best with Internet Explorer or Mozilla..
Chemwatch is contracted to provide Deakin University with an electronic system of Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS). This immediate access is a legislative requirement. When a Deakin computer is used on campus no password is required, but pop-ups must be allowed for this site. People requiring off site access please contact the OHS Unit for a password. A computerised training package is available through the OH&S Unit.
Australian Safety and Compensation Council
Contained in this site is information regarding standards and OHS legal obligations, OHS information, statistics, research and relate sites. Exposure standards are also listed.
Victorian Workcover Authority
Relevant and updated information for Employers, Workers, Industries and Service Providers.
MSDS Australia (Material Safety Data Sheets)
Another site which lists various MSDS web sites.
Hazardous Chemicals Database
This database will allow the user to retrieve information on 1991 hazardous chemicals based on a keyword search. Potential keywords include names, formula & registry numbers (CAS, DOT, RTECS & EPA).
IPCS INCHEM
IPCS INCHEM consolidates a wide variety of information produced by a number of international bodies whose goal is to assist in the sound management of chemicals. IPCS INCHEM provides a means of rapid access to information on chemicals commonly used throughout the world, which may also occur as contaminants in the environment and food.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
Art Safety : a quick online reference
This quick, online health and safety resource is prduced by Public Media Center, a non-profit organization empowering communities through media advocacy.
Health & Safety in the Arts
Simple Searchable Databases of Health & Safety Information for Artists from the City of Tucson's Environmental Management Division.
Also worth a look
Scirus
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific
search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology,
Scirus searches over 167 million science-specific Web pages, enabling you
to quickly:
- Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web.
- Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles and journals that other search engines miss.
- Offer unique functions designed for scientists and researchers
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait