Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Occupational Health and Safety 

Key Resources
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/occhealthsafety  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles via databases             Print Page
  

Your Librarians

Profile ImageScience and Technology Librarians
Contact Info:
john.berry@deakin.edu.au
michael.currie@deakin.edu.au
barry.tucker@deakin.edu.au
rachel.west@deakin.edu.au

 

Login details

Use your Deakin username and password to access databases on campus.

Use your name, library borrower number and PIN to access databases from home or work.  Create your library PIN

Need help? Check out the links on the Getting help page

Searching help

  • SmartSearcher Tutorial  
      
    Learn what databases are and how to use them to locate journal articles. Journal articles are a valuable source of current information.
 

User rights

"All use of electronic resources subscribed to by Deakin University Library is for educational, research or personal use. Restrictions are displayed under 'Licensing & Resource Info' for the individual resource. Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher."
 
 

The most relevant databases for Occupational Health and Safety

Australian Standards Online Premium
The Standards Online Premium database provides the full text copies of the Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright). The database also indexes the ISO standards. Deakin University Library has only subscirbed to the Australian Standards in full text. Please make sure you click the two logout buttons at the end of yours session. Standards Australia does not display well using Netscape Navigator. Internet Explorer is recommended. Licensing and Resource Information

The Building Code of Australia (BCA)
Produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) on behalf of the Australian Government and each State and Territory Government. The BCA is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia. Licensing and Resource Information

CCH Library
Contains full text of selected CCH looseleaf publications and report series as listed below.
CCH Reporter Services contains the following relevant sources:
Hands On OHS, Hands On Legal Guide & Hands on School Health and Safety

OH&S Library contains the following relevant sources:
What's New, OHS Commentary, OHS Cases, OHS Legislation, OHS Alert Newsletter &
Managing Occupational Health and Safety.

Managing Occupational Health and Safety is a manual with the table of contents as follows:
MANAGEMENT RESPONSIBILITIES
INCIDENTS AND INJURIES
HAZARD IDENTIFICATION AND CONTROL
INDUSTRY BEST PRACTICE
GLOSSARY
Licensing and Resource Information

CCINFOWeb
Provides a search interface and includes access to the following databases:

MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets.
CHEMINFO - Summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals.
Canadian enviroOSH Legislation - (full text not available to Deakin University -
database only).
RTECS®- Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances.
OSH References Collection contains the following useful databases:
NIOSHTIC®- Bibliographic database which provides comprehensive international
coverage of documents on occupational health and safety, as well as related fields.
HSELINE - Bibliographic database covering all UK Health and Safety Commission
and Health and Safety Executive publications and a wide range of periodicals,
books, conference proceedings, reports, and legislation.
CHEMINDEX - A convenient guide to over 20 CCINFO databases containing information
on over 185,000 distict chemical substances.
Licensing and Resource Information

 

The 2 EBSCOhost databases that are most useful for finding articles on occupational health and safety are:
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
This database, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, contains more than 560 English-language, scientific and technical publications. Some full text articles available. 1983 to the present. Licensing and Resource Information

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text material from more than 3,600 publications in social sciences, humanities, general science, engineering, medical, education, multi-cultural, and other journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 4,500 journals. More than 3,000 journals are peer reviewed. Full text content will vary with specific journal titles. Licensing and Resource Information

 

Also worth a look

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is a research and searching interface to the Chemical Abstracts and Registry data provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society.The SciFinder Scholar client serve software has to installed on your computer. Look at the Licensing and Resource Information page for more instructions.

Web of Knowledge
The Web of Knowledge interface hosts the following databases: Web of Science, Current Contents Connect and Journal Citation Reports. Abstracts and indexes with some links to external full text 1973-. Licensing and Resource Information 

 

 

 
 

Your feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait