2008 trials2009 trials2010 trials2010 additional Trials2011 Trials2012 Trials2013 Trials2014 Trials2015 Trials
This is the "Trial databases" page of the "Trial databases and new electronic resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trial databases and new electronic resources   Tags: new, resources, trials  

The Library offers trials of new databases or eresources to allow students and staff the opportuntity to evaluate their suitability and use. Feedback from trials is used to inform possible purchase decisions.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2015 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/trials_new Print Guide RSS Updates

Trial databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Library offers trials of new databases or e-resources to allow students and staff the opportunity to evaluate their suitability and use. Feedback from trials is used to inform possible purchase decisions.

Please share your feedback by providing comments in the relevant resource boxes below.

Go direct to the database trials for:

Multidisciplinary

Faculty of Arts & Education

Faculty of Business & Law

Faculty of Health

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

 

Multidisciplinary database trials

The following databases are now available to trial, and are relevant for all Faculties.

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Publisher`s description: Films On Demand streaming video collections with unlimited access to thousands of full-length videos and video clips. A cloud-based digital video delivery service allows users to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere. Browse and search a topic to explore.

Trial ends 13.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further infomation please send an email to the serial orders team.

 

Infobase Ebook Collection

Infobase Ebook Collection

Publisher`s description: Infobase ebooks offers convenient access to the full text of thousands of acclaimed eBooks in a range of core-curriculum subjects—from Facts On File, Chelsea House, Ferguson's, and Bloom's imprints. Unlimited full text access offered to more than 1,800 acclaimed eBooks.

Trial ends 13.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please send an email to the serial orders team.

 

Routledge Handbooks Online

RHO

Routledge Handbooks Online

Routledge Handbooks Online (RHO) is a resource with more than 300 handbooks with peer-reviewed research articles on a variety of topics in 18 subject areas on the RHO platform in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Business, and more. Chapters in each handbook can be searched, viewed as HTML, or downloaded as PDFs.

Trial ends 21.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Ellyse Mitchell

 

Faculty of Arts & Education

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Arts & Education.

 

American National Biography Online

American National Biography Online

Publisher`s description: American National Biography offers portraits of more than men and women -- from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. From astronauts to missionaries, chemists to musicians, and cowboys to Vikings, the portraits combine to reflect the rich diversity of American life, from pre-colonial times onward. Updated with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy.

Trial ends 29.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Marion Churkovich

 

The papers of Dwight Eisenhower

The Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

Publisher`s description: The Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower in 21 volumes include the most significant letters, memoranda, cables, and directives written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through the full term of his presidency. This collection includes documents—many of them previously classified—from private collections and public archives in the U.S. and U.K., as well as papers from the Eisenhower Presidential Library.

Trial ends 23.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Marion Churkovich

 

Twentieth Century Religious Thought

Twentieth Century Religious Thought

Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century

Trial ends 29.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Todd Orme

 

Who`s Who and Who Was Who Online

Who`s Who and Who Was Who Online

Publisher`s description: Who`s Who and Who was Who Online contains influential people from all walks of life, worldwide. Containing autobiographical listings of people from around the globe who have an impact on British life, including senior politicians, judges, civil servants, and notable figures from the arts, academia, and other areas.

Trial ends 29.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Marion Churkovich

 

Faculty of Business & Law

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Business & Law..

 

Faculty of Health

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Health.

 

Passport Nutrition

Passport Nutrition

To Access: Click on link go to top tab and under Industries, drop down to Nutrition

 

Publisher`s description: Passport nutrition is a database examining the total amount of nutrients purchased through packaged food and soft drink products worldwide. Through the evaluation of eight key nutrients in 54 countries, this helps understand key market drivers, dietary trends.

Trial ends 02.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Rachel West

 

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

 

Detail Inspiration

Detail Inspiration

PLEASE NOTE - access for trial is 5 users only

Publisher`s description: Detail Inspiration is an image and reference database uses relevant visual inspirations to support architects in their search for construction solutions. With more than 2,400 projects from the last 30 years, DETAIL inspiration is a source of research and inspiration for architects.

Trial ends 04.05.2015

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use ofthe database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Josephine Le Clerc

 

User Obligations

Deakin University Library provides access to electronic resources for education, research or personal use.  Use of the resources is usually governed by licence agreements. 

Use by individual users is subject to acceptance of the terms and conditions of these licence agreements, and/or copyright law.  When a licence applies, the terms of use that you need to comply with are shown on the Library web pages and/or catalogue from links called "Licensing & Resource Info" or "more info".

Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher.

Refer to Acceptable use of e-resources for a general statement on acceptable or unacceptable terms of use. For specific details on use of an individual e-resource always refer to individual licence information.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip