Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

eReference 

Key resources
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/ereference  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Words and meanings             Print Page
  
 

Login details

Use your Deakin username and password to access databases on campus.

Use your name, library borrower number and PIN to access databases from home or work.  Create your library PIN

Need help? Check out the links on the Getting help page

Searching help

  • SmartSearcher Tutorial  
      
    Learn what databases are and how to use them to locate journal articles. Journal articles are a valuable source of current information.
 

User rights

"All use of electronic resources subscribed to by Deakin University Library is for educational, research or personal use. Restrictions are displayed under 'Licensing & Resource Info' for the individual resource. Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher."
 
 

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford web site describes Oxford Reference Online as: "The Core Collection contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press." Licensing and Resource Information.

The Oxford English Dictionary - online
The Oxford English Dictionary - online covers words from across the English-speaking world and is a "guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present." Licensing and Resource Infromation

Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus
The most up-to-date Australian dictionary and thesaurus available.Licensing and Resource Information

Merriam-Webster Online
This site provides access to both a dictionary and a thesaurus.

yourDictionary.com
A language portal that contains over 2500 dictionaries, and grammars in over 300 languages.

Grove Art
Grove Art provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.). It is updated annually with new material. It includes extensive links to images, and around 45,000 articles. Licensing and Resource Information.

Grove Music
Grove Music describes the resource as: "Grovemusic.com comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Licensing and Resource Information.

Roget’s International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases
Contains 85,000 hyper linked cross-references. It also contains over 2,900 proverbs and quotations from classic and modern authors.

Roget's II: The New Thesaurus
Contains 35,000 synonyms and over 250,000 cross-references.

Credo Reference

"Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service and includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of the world's best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature".Licensing and Resource Information.

 

Acronyms and Abreviations

University College Cork
You can search the database for an acronym (eg IEEE) or for a word in the expanded acronym (eg Engineers) to see related acronyms.

Acronym Finder
Dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Searching over 2,431,000 definitions

Acronyma

Multilingual database of acronyms and abbreviations.

ISI Web of Knowledge abbreviations

 

 

Quotations

Bartleby.com
According to the site, "Bartleby.com combines the best of both contemporary and classic quotations collections into a searchable database of over 87,000 entries, the largest of its kind ever compiled."

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
University of Columbia

This site, part of Project Bartleby, provides for searching or browsing of the 1901 edition. Quotations are searchable by author and keyword. Keyword indexing uses connecting words, such as and and or.

The Quotations Page
A searchable database of over 23,000 quotations.

Famous Quotes and Authors
A searchable website of over 25,000 famous quotations.

 
 

Your Librarians

 

Contact your Faculty/School Liaison Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait