Beyond Deakin: Supporting you into the future

Finding research after graduation

The ability to efficiently locate and use information is paramount to any role. As organisations grow increasingly complex and data-driven, employees must navigate a sea of databases, files, emails, and collaborative platforms. Being adept at information retrieval not only increases productivity but also facilitates informed decision-making and innovative problem-solving in your industry work.

To excel in evidence-based practice, individuals must cultivate a combination of digital literacy, effective search strategies, and a keen understanding of resources available to them. Explore pathways on this page for finding research once you leave university and join the workforce. 

Alumni pathway to resources

Once you graduate, you don't need to completely say goodbye to Deakin. It's free to become a Deakin Alumni and the range of perks include Library privileges.

You retain borrowing access to some Deakin Library collections, plus you can shape your evidence-based work practice with a select range of resources.

Check out the full listing of Alumni Library resources. As Alumni, you can access this select grouping but keep in mind that the licencing means it's only for personal use.   

Free professional development opportunities are also offered to Alumni. This Webinar and Resources page includes a health specific section but you may want to think more broadly. For example, a Business webinar focused on ethical leadership may be ideally suited to your current workplace role.

Note

After joining the Deakin Alumni you need to take an additional step of applying for an Alumni Library membership to access to selected resources. 

Activity: Alumni and database access

Do you know which databases you can access as a Deakin Alumni? Explore this Alumni access database listing if you're not sure. Test your knowledge with the quiz.

Consider State and National Library resources

It's a fantastic idea to join up with your State or National Library. With this kind of library membership you can access a varied range of health focused resources and services. Benefits can include research resources, interdisciplinary learning pathways, community outreach opportunities and access to specialist software.

The State Library Victoria is a great example of databases and other resources available to support your workplace practice, as outlined in their Health and medical information guide.

Did we mention State and National Library memberships are free?

Below is a curated list of Australian libraries. Working in another country? Research the libraries in your area. 

Australian States and National Library list:

Public Libraries - another pathway to resources

Becoming a member of your local public library is also a good idea.

Through membership you can access general health-related books, magazines, and sometimes journals that can be valuable for background knowledge and patient education. Public libraries also offer talks and workshops on health-related areas (e.g. nutrition, mental well-being, fitness) that could be of interest to yourself or your clients.

Explore this interactive Australian local libraries map or this Find a Library page for libraries closest to your workplace.

Public libraries near Deakin campuses list:

Open access resources for health

There's a wealth of freely available and easily accessed research out there. The Open Access movement is dedicated to free, immediate, online availability of research articles that are compliant with copyright laws.

Below are some significant links to Open Access material that you may find useful.

You should also check out Deakin Library's Free and Open Access guide that provides a more extensive range of freely available resources to support health professionals. 

Open Access list for health research resources: